Ghost of pasta past

Boston did not have a lot of positive inspiration to offer me during my last year there, but it still somehow was able to deliver a miracle or two.  My last apartment, located on the street level of 92 Prince Street was one of them.  Not only did that apartment afford me a prime view of the very local (as in “cash only”… as in GoodFellas) bar across the street, and give me a great kitchen in which to furiously cook away my employment woes, but it combined my two greatest non-human loves: food and cool building-related history.

In 1912, 90-92 Prince Street was occupied by three friends from Sicily: Getana LaMarca, Guiseppe Seminara, and Michele Cantella..  With Gaetana as the administrator, Guiseppe as the salesman, and Michele as the worker-bee, the three started the PRINCE SPAGHETTI COMPANY!!!  Yes, in my very own apartment, people!!  They even say so on the website!!

What??  You buy Ragu or Barilla or some other brand and don’t know what I’m talking about?!?  Well, then check this video out and be reminded:

The macaroni company grew so fast that they moved into much nicer and bigger digs 5 years later at 207 Commercial Street.  But my home was the birthplace of a culinary empire!!!

3 thoughts on “Ghost of pasta past

Leave a Reply

